Creamy or… Not??

This week I got my AzureStandard order which included celeriac.  This is the first time I have ever had this vegetable and wasn’t quite sure what to do with it.  My search on pinterest led me to this recipe at JamieOliver.com. I tweaked and made some modifications because, well… I like to do things my way LOL!

The result was a soup with so much flavor I am not sure how to describe it other than I couldn’t stop eating the first bowl when I went to take pictures!  The original recipe calls for blending the soup to make a creamy soup, which I tried(it was fabulous) but it looks sooooo delicious as is that I just had to taste it – well its just as amazing.  It’s a toss up and can really go either way!  So here goes:

creamy-or-not-celeriac-post

Robust Creamy(or not) Celeriac Soup

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print


Ingredients

  • 1 -2 Stalks of Celery (chopped)
  • 1 large onion (chopped)
  • 1 Celeriac Root (chopped)
  • 2 Cups of Apples (chopped)
  • 3-4 Cups of ‘soup stock’  I used beef
  • 2 TB of oil (I used organic grass-fed butter, can use olive oil or coconut oil or oil of choice)
  • 1 tsp Fresh Rosemary chopped
  • 1 tsp Dried Thyme (crushed)
  • 1/2 tsp Homemade Poultry seasoning blend (sage, rosemary, thyme and marjoram)
  • Parsley – garnish

Directions

  1. Rinse and chop Celery
  2. Peel and chop Onions and Celeriac
  3. Heat up oil in stock pot and add Celeriac, stir for 3-4
  4. Then add Onions, Celery, Apples and Herbs – stir another 2-3 minutes
  5. Add soup stock, bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer for about 30 minutes
  6. At this point the soup is ready!  You serve it with some parsley OR go to next step to make it ‘creamy’
  7. Fill blender about half way with the soup, make sure lid is secure and turn blender on low speed until it reaches your desired consistency.  Pour in bowl and repeat with remaining soup as needed. Garnish this ‘creamy’ soup with parsley or other fresh herbs and ENJOY!!!
  8. As for salt – I did NOT add any salt to this soup, I am not sure if my stock had salt or not but the soup was VERY flavorful and did not need any.  This is my very first time using celeriac so not sure about the saltiness of it??  Anyway… You may need to add salt

Interesting how this totally fits today’s daily prompt “OR

4 thoughts on “Creamy or… Not??

  1. Hi! My Significant Other isn’t too crazy about celeriac but it won’t stop me from trying out this recipe… Did you know that you can eat celeriac raw, in a grated form? One French traditional recipe (“céleri rémoulade”) is to lather it with mayonnaise, a no-no for us because of the sulfites in the mustard. Instead, I have served it with my pumpkin seed – rice vinegar – oil and water mix. Again, not my Significant Other’s first choice as a starter course, but hey!
    I am not a soothsayer, but I am sure that your blog is going to become one of the most popular ones within the next months.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did not know that about celeriac – thank you!!!

      The french recipe reminded me of a very easy to make mayo – just eggs(farm fresh!) and olive oil – salt to taste… Will have to post it one of these days… Part of my problem with recipes is I just throw stuff together – not much into measuring – so will have to write down the steps and how much the next time I make it…

      While it is quite tasty, it’s not something we eat very much of – typically we do a oil and various herb mixture. But next time I make it will be sure to put up a recipe for it..

      It’s funny about your significant other.. I have similar challenges hehehe…

      What kind words about my blog 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Since starting a blog I have realized the need for measuring and carry a little booklet around 😄. I am interested in your mayo recipe, as I have not really been able to make it take and stay stiff without mustard. My Significant Other misses not being able to make his traditional tuna and mayo salad!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment