Leek & Spinach Egg Bake

This week has been filled with a variety of foods.  Leeks were one more of the exciting foods which arrived in my recent AzureStandard order.  And, once again, my search for a recipe began.  I came across this one at The Tasting Table which fit the bill for something unique to make.  As usual I made a few changes and the results were delicious!

Leek & Spinach Egg Bake - Fabulous combination of fall flavors!

Leek & Spinach Egg Bake

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A tasty combination of fall flavors.


Ingredients

  • 3 Leeks
  • 5-6 cups Baby Spinach
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 1 small Kale leaf
  • ¼ cup Coconut Milk
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I use Himilayan or Real Salt)
  • 1 TB Coconut Oil or Grass-fed Butter
  • 2 TB of Olive Oil
  • Parsley (Optional garnish)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375
  2. Rinse and slice Leeks
  3. Melt Butter & Oil in stock pot, add in Leeks.
  4. Lightly saute while chopping up Spinach, Garlic, Kale and Salt
  5. Add Spinach & Garlic, continue to saute about 3-4 min
  6. Add Coconut Milk and stir for 1 minute.
  7. Spoon mixture into individual large ramekins. Place filled ramekins on a baking sheet. Make a small indentation in the center for egg. Be careful to not break the yolk when cracking the egg.
  8. Place in oven and bake for approximately 15 minutes – until the egg whites are done and egg yolk still soft.
  9. Garnish with parsley, or other favorite herbs and enjoy!
  10. TIPS – I purchase big containers of fresh baby spinach and put the container directly in the freezer. The spinach freezes without sticking together and is very easy to crumble when I am ready to use it.
  11. I will often add a cup or two of beef or chicken broth during the remaining 10

5 thoughts on “Leek & Spinach Egg Bake

  1. Hubby can’t have it because of the leeks, too bad, it sounds healthy and yummy. Will have to make separate dishes. I should post my recipe for a bok choy and pea egg bake on my English site (have it on the French one already). So many recipes, so little time!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment